What Happens to My CDL After a Minnesota DWI?

Commercial drivers operate large vehicles such as semi-trucks and buses every day to make a living and support their families. Anybody who transports people or heavy/hazardous material has more responsibility than your average motorist, which is why they must have a commercial driver’s license (CDL) to operate such vehicles.

Unfortunately, when a commercial driver is charged with a DWI, it can result in harsh penalties. According to Minnesota law, the legal limit for anyone who operates a commercial vehicle is .04 percent—compared to .08 percent for regular drivers.

For a first offense, a DUI conviction can result in CDL suspension up to one year—even if a commercial driver was operating their personal vehicle at the time of the arrest. However, if a commercial driver is arrested while transporting hazardous materials, the suspension period will last up to three years. A second or subsequent DWI will result in a lifetime ban.

Without a CDL, commercial drivers can lose their jobs and a means to support their household. Additionally, finding work after the suspension period is over can be quite difficult since having a DWI conviction on a criminal record can show up in any employment background check.

If you have been arrested for a DWI in Minneapolis and risk losing your CDL, Brockton D. Hunter P.A. can evaluate your case, determine your legal options, and do our best to get your entire case dismissed or reduce the charges you face. Just because you are arrested doesn’t mean that you are guilty, which means we still have a chance to protect your rights, career, and future.

For more information about Minnesota DWI, contact us and schedule a free consultation today.