DWI Ignition Interlock Laws in MN

MN Ignition Interlock Device Information

An ignition interlock device is a breath analyzer that is wired into a vehicle’s starting system, preventing the vehicle from starting if the driver has consumed a specific amount of alcohol. It is the size of a smartphone and is connected to the vehicle by a cord that is hidden under the dashboard.

The device records data on the breath test, which includes how often the vehicle moves and a number of miles driven. According to Minnesota’s ignition interlock program, first-time offenders with a blood alcohol content (BAC) level of .16% or higher and repeat offenders are required to participate in the program in order to drive legally in the state.

Administrative License Revocation Procedures

It is imperative to understand that Minnesota is one of 42 states which implements Administrative License Revocation (ALR) procedures, meaning that your driver’s license will be confiscated immediately if your BAC is above .08%, or if you refuse a breath test. Although you have not been convicted in a criminal court, your license will either be suspended or revoked automatically.

You are given a 7-day grace period to operate your vehicle under a temporary driving permit issued by the police on the scene. During that time, you are eligible to request a hearing to challenge the case. However, if you do not request a hearing, your license will be automatically suspended on the 8th day for 90 days.

Minnesota allows you to install an ignition interlock device in lieu of suspension time after 15 days have passed.

Contact us and request a consultation with our Minneapolis DWI lawyer today.