MINNEAPOLIS CRIMINAL & VETERANS DEFENSE

You Got Caught with Drugs, Now What?

For those who are charged with a drug possession crime, their lives may change tremendously. The price to pay can be high, and oftentimes, it’s more than just the monetary amount. A conviction can prevent individuals from certain employment, getting a loan, continuing education, and more.

Today, our drug crime attorneys dive into Minnesota’s drug possession laws and penalties.

Penalties for Possessing a Controlled Substance

In Minnesota, controlled substances are divided into five schedules.

Schedule I include dangerous drugs, which have a high probability of abuse and addiction, and no medical value. After that, Schedules II, III, IV, and V gradually decrease in dangerousness and probability of abuse, with an increase in medical uses.

Controlled Substance Crime in the First Degree

The penalties for first degree drug charges range from a fine of up to $1,000,000, up to 30 years in prison, or both. First degree drug charges include the following:

  • 50 grams of cocaine and methamphetamine

  • 25 grams of heroin

  • 50 kilos of marijuana or 500 marijuana plants

Controlled Substance Crime in the Second Degree

Penalties for second degree drug charges range from a fine of up to $500,000, up to 25 years in prison, or both. Second degree drug charges include the following:

  • 25 grams of cocaine and methamphetamine

  • 6 grams of heroin

  • 50 grams of other narcotic drugs

  • 100 doses of hallucinogens

  • 25 kilos of marijuana or 100 marijuana plants

Controlled Substance Crime in the Third Degree

Penalties for third degree drug charges range from a fine of up to $250,000, up to 20 years in prison, or both. Third degree drug charges include the following:

  • 10 grams of any narcotic drug other than heroin

  • 3 grams of heroin

  • 10 kilos of marijuana

  • 5 doses of a Schedule I or Schedule II narcotic drug in a school zone, park zone, public housing zone, or drug treatment center

Controlled Substance Crime in the Fourth Degree

Penalties for fourth degree drug charges range from a fine of up to $100,000, up to 15 years in prison, or both. Fourth degree drug charges include the following:

  • 10 doses of hallucinogens

  • Any amount of Schedule I, II, or III controlled substance (excluding marijuana) with the intent to sell

Controlled Substance Crime in the Fifth Degree

Penalties for fifth degree drug charges range from a fine of up to $10,000, up to 5 years in prison, or both. Fifth degree drug charges include the following:

  • Any amount of Schedule I, II, III, or IV drugs except 42.5 grams or less of marijuana

Facing Drug Crime Charges? Contact Brockton D. Hunter P.A.

When your freedom and finances are at risk with a drug-related charge, our attorneys at Brockton D. Hunter P.A. are here to help. We have a track record of getting results for our clients— including reduced charges, dismissal of cases, and not guilty verdicts.

Call our Minneapolis firm today at (612) 979-1112 to schedule a free consultation.

Categories: