When it comes to DWI, most people think of the criminal penalties (e.g. jail time, probation, fines, etc.). However, there is also a civil side to a DWI charge, which deals with your right to have a driver’s license, the actual license plates on your vehicle, and your permanent driving record.
Losing your driving privileges can have a negative impact on your day-to-day life. It can make commuting to work, attending classes, making important appointments, or even running errands all arduous tasks.
Fortunately, those who have had their driving privileges revoked in Minnesota following a drunk driving arrest have the hope of getting their driver’s license back. To do so requires following certain procedures.
After your first DWI (if your BAC was less than .16 or twice the legal limit), you will lose your driver’s license for 15 days and will then have a limited license for the following 90 days. On the other hand, you may opt to install an ignition interlock device—but you must remain on the device for a period of one year. If your BAC was .16 or over, or have received your second DWI, you will be facing a full year of the ignition interlock system or you will lose your license for an entire year.
In order to reinstate your driver’s license after the revocation period, you must do all of the following:
- Complete court requirements
- Complete Department of Public Safety requirements
- Pay a $680 reinstatement fee
- Pass a DWI knowledge test
- Complete a Minnesota driver’s license application and pay the associated fees
- Complete a chemical health assessment program
After a second offense, a person is required to have a “special review” with the Department of Public Safety. In most cases, a third or subsequent offense results in the cancellation of the individual’s driver’s license, impounding of the license plates, and forfeiture of the vehicle.