Due to COVID-19, phone consultations are available to all potential and current clients who prefer not to meet onsite. Please don’t hesitate to call us if you have any questions!


Minnesota Marijuana Laws

The legalization of cannabis has swept the country over the past decade. So far, ten states have legalized recreational use of marijuana, while 33 states made it legal to use the plant for medical purposes.

In 2014, Governor Mark Dayton signed a bill into law which legalized cannabis for treatment of nine serious health conditions, including cancer and HIV/AIDS, and removed criminal harsh criminal penalties for possession or use of the plant. However, it is considered the most restricted law in the United States since only a limited amount of conditions can qualify and the forms of marijuana available to those patients.

According to current Minnesota law, possession of fewer than 42.5 grams (nearly 1.5 ounces) is considered a petty misdemeanor, which results in a maximum fine of $200 and a potential enrolment in a drug education program. However, possession of over 1.4 grams inside a motor vehicle (unless it is inside the trunk) is punishable by a maximum 90-day jail sentence and a fine of up to $1,000.

Possession of between 42.5 grams and 10 kilograms (approximately 22 lbs.) of cannabis is a felony offense that carries a prison sentence of up to five years and a maximum fine of $5,000. Possession between 10 and 50 kilograms (a little over 110 lbs.) can result in a maximum 20-year prison sentence and a fine of up to $250,000. Possession of between 50 and 100 kilograms (nearly 220.5 lbs.) carries a prison sentence of up to 25 years and a maximum fine of $500,000. Possession of more than 100 kilograms results in a maximum 30-year prison sentence and a fine no larger than $1,000,000.

Selling or distributing any amount of cannabis is considered a felony, carrying lengthy prison sentences and large fines, based on the amount in possession prior to arrest. Selling marijuana to a minor child or on school and park grounds is punishable by a maximum 20-year prison term and a fine of up to $250,000.

It is against the law to drive under the influence of marijuana, even if you have a lawful prescription. Any detective cannabis metabolite in your bloodstream results in a jail sentence of up to 90 days, a maximum fine of $1,000, and suspension of your driver’s license for 180 days.

If you have been arrested for a drug crime related to marijuana in Minnesota, our Minneapolis criminal defense attorney at Brockton D. Hunter P.A. can protect your rights, reputation, and future. Contact us and schedule a consultation to discuss your case with our experienced legal team today.